Mazel Tov

ALICIA APPLEMAN-JURMAN won a 1989 Christopher Award for her book Alicia: My Story (New York: Bantam Books, 1988).

BEVERLY DAVIS, of Palm Beach, Florida, was elected president of the Leadership Conference of National Jewish Women’s Organizations, whose member groups comprise 2.5 million women.

RUTH FELDSTEIN, a Brown University graduate student, was awarded the Joint Distribution Committee’s Boris Smolar Student Journalism Award for the booklet accompanying the photo exhibit “Against the Current” about second generation refuseniks. The project was sponsored by B’nai B’rith Women.

SYLVIA HASSENFELD was installed as the first woman president of the American Joint Distribution Committee in December.

BETTY JEAN LIFTON received the Present Tense Joel H. Cavior Award for the biography The King of Children (New York: Farrar, Straus & Giroux, 1988).

GOLDIE KWELLER is the first woman to assume the presidency of Mercaz, the Zionist organization for Conservative Judaism.

RELA GEFFEN MONSON was appointed dean of Gratz College.

TOVA REICH received the 1989 Edward Lewis Wallant Award for her novel Master of the Return (New York: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1988).

BARBARA ROGASKY received the Present Tense/Joel H. Cavior Literary Award for children’s literature for Smoke and Ashes (New York: Holiday House, 1988).

WENDY WASSERSTEIN received a Pulitzer Prize for drama and a Dramatists Guild Award for her play “The Heidi Chronicles,” now playing at the Plymouth Theater in New York City.