Mazel Tov

In the Community

Sala Galant Burton, elected in June to the San Francisco Congressional seat left vacant by the death of her husband, Representative Philip Burton, raising the number of Jewish women Representatives to three. The others are Barbie Boxer, another San Francisco Democrat, and Bobbie Fiedler, a Republican from Los Angeles. There are a total of 31 Jews in the House, and eight in the Senate.

Gail Beitman, named executive director of the Jewish Federation of Cumberland County, NJ.

Ruth Fein, president of the Combined Jewish Philanthropies of Greater Boston and the first woman president of the American Jewish Historical Society, reelected the Society’s president this June.

Blu Greenberg of New York City, author and lecturer, elected president of the JWB Book Council.

Marsha Grossman of New Jersey assumed the presidency of the Federation of Jewish Agencies in Atlantic County in June.

Dr. Evelyn E. Handler, named president of Brandeis University.

Feme Katleman, director of continuing professional education of the Council of Jewish Federations, has assumed the office of president-elect of the Conference of Jewish Communal Service.

Bette Kraut of New York, elected the first woman president of the Jewish Federation of Greater Schenectady, NY.

Pearl Newmark, appointed senior editor of the Phoenix Jewish News and Leni Reiss, manager, according to publisher Flo Eckstein, who has assumed the additional title of executive editor.

Sheila Levin of New York, named assistant executive director of the American Jewish Congress.

Jacqueline Levine of West Orange, NJ, a member of the board of the Council of Jewish Federations, elected chairperson of the National Jewish Community Relations Advisory Council (NJCRAC), the first woman to hold the post.

Charlene Loup, formerly the general campaign chairperson of Denver’s Allied Jewish Federation, elected the first woman president of the Federation last June.

Rabbi Bene Schneider, named director of Jewish education of the Federation of Jewish Agencies of Atlantic County, NJ.

Sharon Tenhouse of Toronto, elected president of Maccabi Canada in July.

Peggy Tishman, elected president of the Jewish Community Relations Council of New York City.


Cynthia Ozick, noted novelist, was one of the two authors to receive a Mildred and Harold Strauss Living award of $35,000 a year tax-free for a minimum of five years. Nominations for the award, among the largest available to writers, were made by members of the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, and the winners were chosen by an Academy-Institute writers’ jury composed of Elizabeth Hard-wick, Donald Barthelme, Irving Howe and Philip Roth. Ozick’s magnum opus on equal rights for Jewish women (“Notes Toward Finding the Right Question”) appeared in LILITH #6.

Elaine Mann, director of Judaic Studies and Israel Programs at New York’s Jewish Community Center of Washington Heights, received the first “Center Professional of the Year” award of the Association of Jewish Center Workers.

Dale Miller, a student at the Boston University School of Public Communications, received the 1982 JDC/Smoler Student Journalism Award for her series of articles that appeared in the Boston Jewish student newspaper, Genesis

Janet Blatter of Montreal, author, with Sybil Milton, of Art of the Holocaust, was among this year’s winners of the National Jewish Book Awards presented by the Jewish Book Council.

Marjorie Blankstein of Winnipeg, past president of the National Council of Jewish Women of Canada, Chairman of the Canadian Jewish Congress for the Manitoba-Saskatchewan region and president of the Jewish Community Council of Winnipeg, was one of four Canadian Jews (among 63 honorees) awarded the Order of Canada.