Mazal Tov To

Dr. Susan Solomon, senior scientist at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration in Boulder, Colorado, for receiving the 2002 Women & Science Award from the Weizmann Institute in Israel. Solomon was among a team of scientists who determined the cause of the Antarctic ozone hole

Rabbi Rachel Cowan and activist Ronna Stamm. Both received Women of Valor awards in June from the Jewish Fund for Justice.

Songwriter Flory agoda for a National Endowment of the Arts award. Jagoda, who was born in Sarajevo in 1923, has devoted her talents to transmitting Ladino songs, many of them about women’s lives.

Esther Leah Ritz, who received the Philip E. Lerman Award for Racial Justice from the YWCA of Greater Milwaukee in recognition for her work as a community activist and advocator of justice at the local, national and international level. Ritz said modestly that this, the latest of many awards she has won, was “for no particular reason, except that’s what I believe in.”

Judy Bitman Wortman, the new executive vice president of the Jewish Reconstructionist Federation.

Rabbi Mychal Springer, appointed associate dean at the Jewish Theological Seminary, a post she assumed in July; her specialty is pastoral care.