Mazel Tov

Ordained as Rabbis

Reconstructionist: Linda Holtzman of Philadelphia; and Gail S. Shuster-Bouslika of Evanston, II., the first Reconstructionist woman rabbi to settle in Israel. She is teaching in the Jerusalem Pedagogic Center.

Reform: Michal Bourne of Mt. Kisco, NY; Ellen Dreyfuss, Chicago; Vicki Lee Hollander, Beechwood, OH; Jan Kaufman, Baltimore; Beverly Lerner, Shawnee Mission, Kansas; Beverly Magidson, Detroit; Janet Ross, Tarzana, CA; Sheila Russian, Cranston, Rl; and Bonnie Steinberg, Belmont, MA.

In the community

Vivian R. Rabineau, campaign director of the Washington, D.C. U.J.A.-Federation.

Dorothy Eisenberg, elected president of the Combined Jewish Appeal, Las Vegas.

F. Altman, elected to her second term as president of the Jewish Federation of Southern Illinois.

Francine Loeb, chairperson of the 1979 campaign of the Jewish Federation of Greater Seattle.

S. Deifik elected president of the Jewish Federation of Fort Worth.

Roberta Shiffman, executive director of the North American Jewish Students Appeal, New York.

Dr. Nancy L. Caroline, formerly a faculty member of the University of Pittsburgh Medical School, appointed medical director of Magen David Adorn in Israel.

Riki Englander Kosut, elected president of the American Jewish Public Relations Society.

Vida Goldgar, editor and publisher of the Southern Israelite, Atlanta.

Maureen Schild, appointed Legal Associate in the American Jewish Committee’s Legal Division.

Jenny Brouse, elected president of the Tulsa Jewish Community Council.

Marian Shifman, elected president of the Jewish Community Council of Metropolitan Detroit.

Linda May, president of the Houston Chapter of the American Jewish Committee.

Joanne Jahr, appointed National Program Coordinator for ARZA — the Association of Reform Zionists of America.

Laura Movschine, elected co-president of Americans for Progressive Israel-Hashomer Hatzair.

Sylvia Brailove, elected president of the Jewish Federation of Central New Jersey.

Leona Chanin (New York), Joan Mendelson (Long Island), Linda Miller (Baltimore), Bernice Tannenbaum (New York), elected to the Board of Directors of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency.

Awards and Honors

Lili Berger of France awarded the Fernando Jeno Literary Prize by the Cultural Commission of the Central Jewish Committee of Mexico.

Celia S. Heller’s book On The Edge of Destruction won the Jewish Book Council’s National Jewish Book Award in Jewish history.

Toba Korenblum of Toronto, recipient of a Boris Smolar Award for Excellence in American Jewish Journalism, Best Features Category.

Syliva Wene, considered the best woman bowler, inducted in the Jewish Sports Hall of Fame located at Israel’s Wingate Institute.

Sondra Gotlieb of Ottawa, recipient of 1979 Leacock Award for humor for her autobiographical book, True Confessions.

A special mazel tov to Simone Veil, formerly French Minister of Health, for her election as President of the European Parliament.