Mazel Tov


Dr. Ora Grafstein, recipient of science award given by former President of Israel Ephraim Katzir in memory of his brother; Dr. Judith Resnick, one of six women NASA is training to be astronauts.

Arts and Letters

Zelda Mishkovsky, Israeli poet, awarded Tel Aviv municipality’s Bialik Award for Literature: Rachel Fishman, recipient of Israel’s Itzhak Manger Award for her work in Yiddish; Nehama Hendel, recent Russian emigrant to Israel, recipient of a special Manger Award as Yiddish stage artist and singer.


Phyllis Cole, Mindy J. Fliegelman, Gail R. Karp and Sarah J. Sager, now working as cantors following graduation from Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion, New York City. A special mazel tov to Cantor Fliegelman, who has been blind since infancy. Laurie Rimland, cantor of B’nai Tikvah in Los Angeles, first Conservative synagogue to hire a full-time female cantor. Ruthel Weiss, President of Ner Tamid, Conservative synagogue in Chicago; Miriam Regenstreif and Claire Chitayat, Treasurer and Vice President of Orthodox Spanish and Portuguese Synagogue in Montreal.

Fund Raising and Community Organization

Mildred Hurwitz, Israel Bond Campaign Co-Chairman (her title preference), Chicago; Milly Lande, General Chairwoman of 1978 Combined Jewish Appeal and Israel Emergency Fund, Montreal; Marie Fellman, President of Jewish Federation, Omaha; Joyce Newman, President of Jewish Federation of South Broward, FL; Marion Goldman, President of Jewish Federation, San Jose, CA; Esther Mitnick, re-elected President of Federation of Jewish Agencies, Atlantic County, NJ.


Randy Robinson, Executive Director of Jewish Students Federatio, York University, Toronto; Hannah Males of Cleveland, President of National Conference of Synagogue Youth, 1978-79; Susan Grossman, Editor-in-Chief of Jewish Student Press Service; Deena Cohen, sophomore at Ramaz School, New York City, first place in World Zionist organization’s National Bible Contest.


Rita Kurland, first woman elected to a national office of National Jewish Civil Service Employees.

Institutes and Institutions Emily Sunstein of Philadelphia, appointed Chairperson of Institute on Pluralism and Group Identity, American Jewish Committee; Ruby Barter, first woman to chair B’nai Brith’s Mountain States Institute of Judaism this past summer; Joan Jacobson, unanimously elected president of 92nd St. YM-YWHA, New York City.

The Press

Ann Siller Kostant, Editor of Brookline, MA Jewish Times; Fran Gold, Editor of Jewish Council of Central New Jersey publication; Ellen Bob, Editor of the Journal of the North Shore Jewish Community, Salem, MA; Jane Gerber, Editor of the new magazine Shoah, A Review of Holocaust Studies.


Hava Hareli, appointed Israeli ambassador to Norway.