Mazel Tov

NEW YORK-The 12 women ordained in May and June as Reform rabbis and the two named as Reconstructionist rabbis in June will bring to 61 the total number of women ordained as Reform Reconstructionist rabbis since 1972, according to an annual Jewish Telegraphic Agency survey.

The eight women named Reform rabbis in New York City are: Donna Berman of Valley Stream NY; Miriam Biatch of Studio City CA; Devorah Jacobson of Surfside FL; Patricia Karlin of Plantation FL; Deborah Zecher of Monroeville PA; Amy Perlin of Washington DC; Ruth Sohn of Teaneck NJ; and Julie Wolkoff of St. Louis Park MN.

The four women named Reform rabbis in Cincinnati are: Lenore Bohm of Atlanta GA; Deborah Hirsch of Chicago IL; Dena Feingold of Janesville WI; and Sally Finestone of Clifton Forge VA.

The two women ordained as Reconstructionist rabbis in Philadelphia are Nancy Fuchs-Kreimer of Stanford CA; and Susan Schnur of Trenton NJ.

Of the 61 women rabbis, 49 are Reform and 12 Reconstructionist.

Susan Grossman, writer and graduate student in Judaic studies at Brooklyn College, was elected President of the North American Jewish Students Appeal in January 1982. The Appeal is the umbrella funding agency for five Jewish student organizations.

Suzanne Parelman, Vice-President of the Jewish Federation of Kansas City, was appointed Chairperson of the North American Jewish Students Appeal in March 1981.

Ida Eisenseld and Charlotte Rothstein, elected mayors of Mt. Clemens and Oak Park respectively, both suburban Detroit communities, last November 1981.

Kathryn Lasky received a 1982 National Jewish Book Award in Children’s Literature for The Night Journey, published by Frederick Warne Co., Inc.

Sheila Zucker, producer and host of the “Sheila Zucker Show,” airing locally on WEVD-FM, was one of three recipients of the Eleanor Roosevelt Humanities Award presented annually by the Career and Professional Women’s Division of the State of Israel Bonds.