LILITH Editor Honored in the Knesset

Marking the 15th anniversary of the Israel Women’s Network and the landmark 1984 American Jewish Congress Jerusalem dialogue “Women as Jew, Jew as Woman,” the two organizations honored Jewish women activists at a ceremony in the Knesset in January. Among the “Women Who Made a Difference” was LILITH’s Editor-in-Chief Susan Weidman Schneider, a participant in the 1984 dialogue. LILITH board members, authors and supporters were heavily represented among the eleven Americans credited with changing the landscape for Jewish women: philanthropists Barbara Dobkin, Leona Chanin and Virginia Snitow; authors Betty Friedan, Blu Greenberg, Francine Klagsbrun and Letty Cotty Pogrebin; community leader Jacqueline Levine; the late Bella Abzug; and Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsberg.